The University of Tennessee Graduate School of Medicine, Knoxville


New Date: 2014 Resident and Fellow Research Day May 28

Resident and Fellow Research Day will be held from 7:00 to 11:30 a.m. on Wednesday, May 28, in the College of Pharmacy Room 220. It was originally scheduled for May 21. Presenters will be timed and judged and an awards ceremony will follow in June. Preview the research topics.

Radiology Resident Kevin Liaw Scores in 99th Percentile

Kevin Liaw, MD, Radiology Resident, scored in the 99th percentile on the American College of Radiology Diagnostic In-Training examination.

Pathology Resident Jason Chen Receives Breast Journal Award

Jason Chen, MD, First-Year Pathology Resident, received a second-place award from The Breast Journal at the 19th Annual Multidisciplinary Symposium on Breast Disease, hosted by the University of Florida Health and Dr. Shahla Masood, for his abstract, "Is the Traditional TNM Staging System for Breast Cancer Still Relevant in the Era of Biomarkers and Emerging Personalized Medicine for Breast Cancer - An Institution’s 10 Year Experience." Co-authors are James McLoughlin, MD, Eric Heidel, PhD, John Bell, MD, Timothy Panella, MD, Amila Orucevic, MD, PhD.

PMERF Awards New Grants

The Physician's Medical Education and Research Fund at The University of Tennessee Medical Center recently awarded grants for several research projects at the UT Graduate School of Medicine.

PMERF meets quarterly to  review and award grants to members of the  UT Graduate School of Medicine faculty and staff and to collaborators at UT Knoxville and Oak Ridge National Laboratories.  All funds originate as donations to PMERF from faculty and community supporters.

Medical Student Wins Award at National Radiology Meeting

Thomas McLaren, a fourth-year medical student, won the First Place AMSER Henry Goldberg Medical Student Award at the Association of University Radiologists 2014 annual meeting for his poster, "Creating an Inexpensive Education Lumbar Spine Model for Teaching Fluoroscopy-Guided Intervention." He was mentored by Austin Bourgeois, MD, Co-Chief Radiology Resident, and the poster was also co-authored by Austin Faulkner, MD, Kathleen Hudson, MD, and Alexander Pasciak, PhD.

Staff Retire Following Long-Term Service

Several long-time staff recently retired from the UT Graduate School of Medicine. Mary Ann Murphy, most previously a coordinator in Obstetrics and Gynecology, retired following 15 years of service. Elise Harris, most previously an administrative support assistant in Surgery, retired following 23 years of service. Kathryn Maxwell, most previously a medical administrative assistant in Genetics, retired following 25 years of service.

Radiology Residents Serve the American Alliance for Academic Chief Residents in Radiology

Lance Warren, MD, Radiology Resident, served as the co-president of the the American Alliance for Academic Chief Residents in Radiology (A3CR2) for 2013-2014 and will serve as the immediate past co-president for the 2015 meeting, held annually during the Association of University Radiologists meeting. Kevin Liaw, MD, Radiology Resident, served as a member of the A3CR2 steering committee as the ACR liaison. Elected to the 2014-2015 steering committee are Radiology Residents Scott Embry, MD, acting as Association of Program Directors liaison, and Matt Layman, MD, acting as co-committee chair of the Brogden Panel.

New Faculty

Lynlee Wolfe, MD, Clinical Assistant Professor, Obstetrics and Gynecology

New Staff

Brooke Bennett, Administrative Specialist, Surgery
Thomas Masi,
Research Associate, Surgery
Patricia Rebholz,
Coordinator, Business Office
Rebecca West,
Assistant Director, IRB