The University of Tennessee Graduate School of Medicine, Knoxville

News and Events

GSM Faculty Honored for Excellence

Each year, faculty are recognized for their extraordinary efforts in education and discovery. The 17th annual University of Tennessee Graduate School of Medicine Faculty Awards were presented by Dr. Paul J. Hauptman, Dean. This year's awards were announced in surprise Zoom meetings with the recipients. A recognition ceremony will be held at a later date.

GSM Spirit Award

Daphne Norwood, MD MPH
Associate Professor

The Spirit Award recognizes faculty who uphold the GSM mission and who advocate for the GSM throughout the campus and wider community. Dr. Norwood has been a stellar educator and advocate for the GSM and is recognized for her engagement, enthusiasm and commitment. She has participated in the faculty development seminar series, Capstone and intern orientation; she serves as the Transitional Year Program Director; and she has participated on multiple UHS and GSM committees. Most recently, she agreed to help develop and monitor an onboarding process for undergraduate students interested in clinical research and/or clinical shadowing at the GSM (albeit on hold during the current COVID situation). A winner of the ACP Physician Laureate Award (Tennessee Chapter), Dr. Norwood has also served on the TN ACP Governor's Council and an ACGME review committee. Her contributions are appreciated.

Shown below: Kandi Hodges, Dr. Jonathan Wall, Dr. William Metheny, Amy Paganelli and Dr. Rajiv Dhand who joined me in honoring Dr. Norwood via Zoom.


Excellence in Teaching Award

J. Michael McCoy, DDS
Pathology, Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Radiology

Dr. McCoy has practiced and taught at the medical center for almost 40 years in several departments including Pathology, Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Radiology, and Surgery. He is a nationally recognized bone and soft tissue expert for the head and neck, and he receives requests for consultations from across the U.S. for these types of cases. He currently works with Lisa Duncan, MD, Pathology Chair, on issues pertaining to the new UTMC Bio Bank; he oversees Pathology's head and neck pathology rotation and helps coordinate clinical care and resident education for both Pathology and OMFS in collaboration with Eric Carlson, DMD, MD. Dr. McCoy is involved in research and scholarly activity and serves as a mentor for both faculty and residents. He is well published and serves on several editorial boards. Dr. McCoy also speaks nationally at OMFS meetings.

In nominating Dr. McCoy, Dr. Duncan wrote, "I can think of no one who is more deserving of this award than Dr. McCoy. He embodies and promotes the values and the spirit of UTGSM’s 'Excellence in Teaching.'"

Shown below: Kandi Hodges, Dr. William Metheny, Amy Paganelli, Dr. Jonathan Wall, Dr. Lisa Duncan, Dr. Rajiv Dhand and Dr. Eric Carlson who joined me in honoring Dr. McCoy via Zoom.


Excellence in Teaching (Volunteer)

Steven Rider, MD
Clinical Assistant Professor

Dr. Rider practices at the University Neurology Cole Neuroscience Center. He is Division Director of Neurology and Director of the Neurology Clerkship for medical students at the GSM where he leads the majority of didactic teaching for residents and medical students and is consistently rated as an excellent teacher. He was awarded the Department's R.A. Obenour, Jr. Teaching Award based on resident reviews of their experiences on neurology rotations.

In his nomination, Rajiv Dhand, MD, Chair of Medicine wrote, "Dr. Rider is an excellent teacher and skilled clinician. He is a good role model and team player, and he has been a valuable asset for the program and enthusiastically participates in his teaching activities."

Shown below: Kandi Hodges, Dr. Rajiv Dhand, Dr. Brian Wiseman, Dr. William Metheny and Dr. Jonathan Wall who joined me in honoring Dr. Rider via Zoom.


Excellence and Leadership in Clinical Research

Michael McNally, MD
Associate Professor

Dr. McNally is Vascular Surgery Fellowship Program Director and M3 Clerkship Director for Surgery and has led efforts to promote clinical research within the Department of Surgery. He developed a monthly vascular clinical research meeting with all faculty members and residents to discuss ongoing projects and plans for publication. Dr. McNally has initiated a clinical trial in collaboration with the Department of Nutrition for evaluation of a potential anti-inflammatory herbal medication, as a modulator of intimal hyperplasia. He is also principal investigator of a Phase 2 clinical trial utilizing endovascular stent graft technology for thoraco-abdominal repair. He has previously participated in research related to radiation exposure during the vascular surgery training program as well as clinical outcomes of thrombosed AV access grafts.

In his nomination letter, Michael Freeman, MD, Chair of Surgery wrote, "I can think of no one more deserving than Dr. McNally in regards to receiving the Excellence and Leadership in Clinical Research Award. He always conducts research in an ethical manner and has contributed to the body of knowledge in surgery."

Shown below: Dr. Michael Freeman, Kandi Hodges, Dr. William Metheny, Dr. Rajiv Dhand, Amy Paganelli and Dr. Jonathan Wall who joined me in honoring Dr. McNally via Zoom.

Posted: August 18, 2020


Support The University of Tennessee Graduate School of Medicine

The University of Tennessee Graduate School of Medicine
1924 Alcoa Highway
Knoxville, Tennessee 37920 | 865-305-9290

Copyright © 2023