The University of Tennessee Graduate School of Medicine, Knoxville


Department of Medicine Faculty Recognized at Reception

At the Department of Medicine's annual faculty awards reception in December, Rajiv Dhand, MD, Chair, presented several awards, including two new awards in honor of the department's original chair, Alfred Beasley, MD, and long-time leader, Richard Obenour, MD.

The Beasley Pylon Award is aptly named, indicating the recipient has been a pillar of support to the department through extraordinary leadership and service. This inaugural award was presented to Richard Obenour, MD, Professor and Vice Chairman. In addition to serving for 50 years, Dr. Obenour has acted as interim chair for the department on two occasions.

The inaugural R.A. Obenour, M.D., Distinguished Alumnus Award, established to recognize an alumnus who has an outstanding career achievement in the field of Medicine, was presented to John W. Lacey, III, MD, Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine, and Senior Vice President and Chief Medical Officer, The University of Tennessee Medical Center.

Since the early 1980s, the Department of Medicine has had a yearly tradition of recognizing one teacher who deserves the accolade "excellent." The Medicine residents vote for this deserving faculty member. The 2012 London Award was presented to Ronald Lands, MD, Associate Professor.

The R. A. Obenour, Jr., Award for steadfast dedication to excellence in teaching was presented to  
Dale Wortham, MD, Professor and Program Director of the Cardiovascular Disease Fellowship program.

The Richard A. Obenour, Jr. Award was established after the untimely death of the son of Dr. and Mrs. Richard A. Obenour. The Obenour family, friends, and coworkers generously donated to an endowment fund in their son's memory. Since young Dick spent most of his life pursuing an education, Dr. Obenour thought it fitting to create an award dedicated to a faculty member who displayed a commitment to education through teaching residents and medical students. 

Those recognized at the reception for long-time service to the department:

25 Years
Daniel Ely, MD

40 Years
Alan Solomon, MD
Robert Overholt, MD
Clark Julius, MD

50 Years
Richard A. Obenour, MD

February 28, 2013



Support The University of Tennessee Graduate School of Medicine

The University of Tennessee Graduate School of Medicine
1924 Alcoa Highway
Knoxville, Tennessee 37920 | 865-305-9290

Copyright © 2023