A message from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville.

View as web page

The Scope

September 2019: Volume 17 Issue 1

Dr. Waters Recognized for Lifetime Achievement in Urology

W. Bedford Waters, MD, Professor and Chairman of the Department of Urology at the University of Tennessee Graduate School of Medicine, passed away earlier this year. Among his many career achievements, he was awarded the 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award of the American Urologic Association just weeks before his passing. Paul J. Hauptman, MD, Dean, said, "He was a giant of a man in many different ways, and his death is a huge loss to our GSM and University of Tennessee Medical Center family."

Read more

Faculty Recognized for Teaching and Research Excellence

Each year, faculty are recognized for their extraordinary efforts in education and discovery. The 17th annual UT Graduate School of Medicine Faculty Awards were presented by Paul J. Hauptman, MD, Dean; William Metheny, PhD, Assistant Dean for Graduate Medical and Dental Education; and Mitchell Goldman, MD, former Assistant Dean for Research, during the New Resident and Fellow Welcome Reception and Awards Ceremony. Winners are Gregory Blake, MD; William Dabbs, MD; Joseph Peeden, MD; and Gregory Mancini, MD.

Read more

Family Medicine Initiates Medical Student Elective to Better Serve LGBTQ Patients

The UT Graduate School of Medicine now offers "Care of the LGBTQ Patient" as a course to third-year and fourth-year medical students. The two-week Family Medicine elective will help prepare students to more effectively treat the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, questioning patient population. Anthony Wilson, MD, Associate Professor, is Course Director. Hear Dr. Wilson discuss primary care and the new elective In the UTGSM Faculty Lounge with Dean Hauptman via YouTube.

Read more


Medical Students Conduct Research Through Dr. I. Reid Collmann’s Legacy Scholarship

Medical students participated in research projects at the UT Graduate School of Medicine through the I. Reid Collmann, M.D. Medical Student Education Fund which gives students an opportunity similar to that of former Dean Collmann's own student research experience. Dr. Collmann believed awareness of the impact of research on patient care helps build a solid foundation for careers in medicine. This year, three rising second-year medical students from the UT Health Science Center College of Medicine were supported by the program.

Read more

GSM Awards Residents for Outstanding Scholarship and Research

The UT Graduate School of Medicine recognized residents and fellows for their achievements as scholars and in scholarly activity at the 2019 New Resident and Fellow Reception and Awards Ceremony in June at the Crown Plaza. Winners recognized are Lauren Grimsley, MD, Surgery; Jacob Snyder, DO, Pathology; Elizabeth Richardson, MD, Obstetrics and Gynecology; and Justin Swengel, MD, Anesthesiology.

Read more


Tennessee General Assembly Members Visit UTGSM Amyloidosis Team

Members of the Tennessee General Assembly visited The University of Tennessee Medical Center for a presentation led by Jonathan Wall, PhD, UTGSM Research Director and Amyloidosis and Cancer Theranostics Program Director.

Read more

Faculty Spotlights

Dr. Wesley White Named Interim Chair of Urology

Dr. Jonathan Wall Named UTGSM Director of Research

New Residency Program Directors Named for Radiology, OB/GYN, and Urology

In the UTGSM Faculty Lounge with the Dean (YouTube)
Featuring: Anthony Wilson, MD

Faculty Promotions

New UTGSM Faculty and Staff

Publications and Presentations

Faculty in the Media

The Scope is a newsletter from the University of Tennessee Graduate School of Medicine.



Contact Us

The University of Tennessee Graduate School of Medicine
1924 Alcoa Highway, Box U-94| Knoxville, TN 37920
Phone: 865.305.9290 | Fax: 865.305.6819

ISSUU LinkedIn

The Knoxville campus of the University of Tennessee Health Science Center and the clinical partner of the UT Medical Center.