The University of Tennessee Graduate School of Medicine, Knoxville


Dr. Osborne Chairs Preclinical Imaging Task Force

Dustin Osborne, PhD, Associate Professor, Molecular Imaging and Translational Research Program, has been appointed as Chair of the Center for Molecular Imaging Innovation and Translation’s (CMIIT) Preclinical Imaging Task Force. This task force is comprised of experts in the field of preclinical imaging and charged with creating best practices guidelines based on how to design and conduct preclinical imaging experiments; to serve as consultants on preclinical imaging issues; to develop resources for training MI lab specialists; to encourage the development of standards for image formats and management, and to develop standard protocols for imaging database management and methods.

Radiology Resident Wins Best Presentation Award

Radiology Residents Seth Mather, MD, and Jerome Kao, MD, won “Best Presentation” for their presentation, “Tomosynthesis: Are We Improving Patient Care? Initial 2-Year Institutional Experience,” given at the Tennessee Radiological Society’s Annual Scientific Meeting. Co-authors are Leah Bowling, MD, Garnetta Morin-Ducote, MD, Kathleen Hudson, MD, and Amanda Ingram, MD.

Dr. Clark Julius Passes Away

Clark Julius, MD, retired Professor of Medicine and former Chief of Staff of The University of Tennessee Medical Center recently passed away. Dr. Clark completed his residency at the medical center when it was UT Memorial Research Center and Hospital. He was also co-founder of the Tennessee Dermatological Society and served as president of the Knoxville Academy of Medicine and on the Board of Trustees for the Tennessee Medical Association. View Dr. Julius's obituary.

Research Staff Win SNMMI Awards

Shelley Acuff, Clinical Research Leader, won the Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging Lab Professional Award from the Education and Research Foundation for Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging. This award is designed to recognize developments in innovative techniques and practices by molecular imaging laboratory professionals. She was granted this award for her previous and ongoing work in molecular imaging, including patient assessments of anxiety during imaging, Post-therapy Y90 microsphere imaging, and the development of new protocols for PET/CT imaging using continuous bed motion imaging technology.

Acuff and Alan Stuckey, Preclinical Research Leader, also received their third consecutive travel awards to the SNMMI conference for their presented works.

Faculty Earn Promotions

Several faculty members earned promotions in 2015.

Promoted to Professor
Yong Bradley, MD, Radiology
Raymond Dieter, III, MD, Surgery
Oscar Grandas, MD, Surgery
Craig Towers, MD, Obstetrics and Gynecology
Nikki Zite, MD, Obstetrics and Gynecology

Promoted to Associate Professor
Christopher Clark, MD, Pathology
Laurentia Nodit, MD, Pathology
Dustin Osborne, PhD, Radiology

Promoted to Assistant Professor
James Goodin, MD, Surgery
Kabel Morgan, MD, Anesthesiology
Ryan Pickens, MD, Surgery

Hodges Elected to UT Exempt Staff Council

Kandi Hodges, Information Specialist, Health Information Management and Services, has been elected as the UT Graduate School of Medicine representative to the UT Exempt Staff Council. The Council, counterpart to the Faculty Senate and Employee Relations Councils, is a body elected by peers to represent nearly 2,200 exempt (administrative and professional) staff at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville area. The ESC is sponsored by the Vice President for Administration and Finance. The mission of the ESC is to provide a forum for discussing issues and exchanging ideas relevant to exempt staff and to provide a mechanism for communicating with other representative bodies and administrators. Hodges succeeds Laura Maples, Director, Continuing Education and Professional Development, and will serve a three-year term.

New Staff

Cathleen Barry, Medical Administrative Specialist, Family Medicine
Karen Deaderick, Licensed Nurse Practitioner, Obstetrics and Gynecology
Curtis DeFord, IT Administrator, Health Information Management and Services
Kristi Gregg, Administrative Support Assistant, Medicine
Heather Johnson, Administrative Support Assistant, Family Medicine
Richa Koul, Research Associate, Anesthesiology
Katie Langford, Medical Administrative Assistant, Medicine