The University of Tennessee Graduate School of Medicine, Knoxville

News and Events

Dr. Wesley White Named Chair of Urology

Dr. White takes over as Chair after assuming the interim role in July 2019 following the untimely death of the inaugural Chair, Dr. W. Bedford Waters.

Born in North Carolina, Dr. White attended the University of Tennessee as an undergraduate, the College of Medicine at the UT Health Science Center for medical school and the University of Tennessee Medical Center / Graduate School of Medicine for Urology residency. Subsequently, he was a Fellow in Laparoscopic and Robotic Urologic Surgery at the Glickman Urological and Kidney Institute of the Cleveland Clinic.

Known for his clinical expertise in robotic urologic surgery, Dr. White has garnered a national reputation for his academic endeavors. In addition to participation in multiple visiting professorships and invited lectureships both nationally and internationally, Dr. White is a member of the American Urological Association and the Society of Academic Urology. Since 2010, he has served as Associate Editor of the Laparoscopy and Robotics section of Urology, the premier journal in the discipline. He has been prolific in clinical research as demonstrated by authorship or co-authorship of 11 book and book chapters, 68 research publications, 13 editorials, and nearly 200 abstracts/presentations.

He has a focused interest in health disparities and has worked diligently to expand services to rural communities in multiple surrounding counties where access to urologic care has been very limited.

As a former program director of the Urology residency program, Dr. White has also contributed service to the UTMC / GSM campus community through participation in multiple activities related to patient safety and credentialing; as Chief of Staff; and as a member of GSM academic search committees.

Dr. Hauptman would like to thank Dr. Robert Craft, who chaired the Search Committee for his hard work and commitment, as well as the Committee members at large (Drs. Jonathan Boone, Brian Daley, John Lacy, C. Lindsay McKnight, Steve Ross and Katherine Yared).

Posted Feb 28, 2022


Support The University of Tennessee Graduate School of Medicine

The University of Tennessee Graduate School of Medicine
1924 Alcoa Highway
Knoxville, Tennessee 37920 | 865-305-9290

Copyright © 2023