The University of Tennessee Graduate School of Medicine, Knoxville

The University of Tennessee Department of Medicine

The Department of Medicine

The Department of Medicine is the largest department in the University of Tennessee Graduate School of Medicine (UTGSM); the Knoxville campus of the University of Tennessee Health Science Center (UTHSC). The Department is comprised of 19 Divisions and 189 full time, part time, and volunteer faculty. The primary focus of the department is the training of medical residents and third- and fourth-year medical students who are primarily enrolled at the UTHSC. We offer a Categorical Internal Medicine Residency Program and a Transitional Year Program. We offer fellowship training in Cardiovascular Diseases, Interventional Cardiology, and Pulmonary Medicine/Critical Care Medicine which are fully accredited by the ACGME. The latest ACGME approved fellowship is in Hematology/Oncology. Additionally, we are committed to clinical and basis science research with a robust Amyloidosis and Cancer Theranostics Program as well as a Molecular Imaging Laboratory.

Training Facilities

Clinical training is provided mainly at the nationally ranked University of Tennessee Medical Center (UTMC) and affiliated clinics located in Knoxville. Our trainees and faculty are committed to providing exceptional patient care in a collegial environment, and several divisions are nationally recognized for their excellence. We have the twin advantages of being an academic training program without being a large one, where each trainee is well known and recognized for their achievements. We offer several unique programs that encourage our trainees to be critical thinkers; and that prepare them for the ever-changing needs of healthcare, both in the current milieu and for the future. In addition to our experienced faculty, we have outstanding support from ancillary staff in both the hospital and ambulatory clinic settings. We have a robust basic science research program, are rapidly expanding our clinical research, and have ongoing collaborations with other research institutions in and around Knoxville.

Our Mission

The mission of the Department of Medicine is to help physicians in training acquire the knowledge, skills, and attributes necessary to become competent, compassionate physicians who possess a lifetime love of medicine, learning, and teaching; to provide an organization for the delivery of excellent medical care from both the generalists and specialists in the field of Internal Medicine; and to provide an invigorating environment for basic and clinical research. Our enthusiastic and experienced clinical and research faculty are dedicated to the fulfillment of this mission


The Department of Medicine would like to congratulate Dr. Francisco Soto on the invitation to become the Vice-Chair for the Pulmonary Vascular Disease Network with the American College of Chest Physicians (CHEST). He has plans to move into the Chair role after serving for two years as the Vice-Chair. Dr. Soto states that, “I am excited for the networking opportunities for our Pulmonary Hypertension Program as well as the fellowship program and the Pulmonary Critical Care Medicine Division." There is also an opportunity to onboard an interested fellow in a leadership role within the network. 

We are honored to have a progressive researcher and practitioner, such as Dr. Soto, on our faculty.
Posted 10/23

The Rawson Award for excellent teaching and clinical skills was given to Dr. Emily Daniels, DO, and Dr. Ben Fogelson, DO, at the 2022 Department of Medicine Residents’ Awards Dinner. This award is given in memory for Freeman Rawson, MD, who joined the Department of Medicine in 1956 as one of our first teaching faculty and was known for his compassion and expertise. Dr. Rawson passed away in 2003.

Previous Highlights Stories

The "In Touch" Newsletter

In Touch is produced by the University of Tennessee Graduate School of Medicine's Department of Medicine. The mission of the newsletter is to build pride in the Department of Medicine by communicating the accessible, collaborative and human aspects of the department while highlighting pertinent achievements and activities.

In Touch is published each quarter and features faculty and resident news, upcoming events, and awards and accomplishments. As an institute of learning and discovery, the newsletter highlights how the Department of Medicine contributes to a global body of medical knowledge through various scholarly activities.

Read the latest edition of the In Touch newsletter.


Support The University of Tennessee Graduate School of Medicine

The University of Tennessee Graduate School of Medicine
1924 Alcoa Highway
Knoxville, Tennessee 37920 | 865-305-9290

Copyright © 2023