The University of Tennessee Graduate School of Medicine, Knoxville

Academy of Scholars, Who They Are, What They Do | The University of Tennessee Graduate School of Medicine, Knoxville

About the Graduate School of Medicine

Academy of Scholars

Who They Are, What They Do

UTGSM Academy of ScholarsThe UT Graduate School of Medicine established an Academy of Scholars in May 2013, an externally reviewed fellowship of UT faculty physicians who have demonstrated excellence in medical education and with the goals to develop activities and methods to strengthen the academic mission of the institution. Dr. James Lewis currently serves as Chair.

The Academy’s mission is to recognize and promote teaching excellence and educational scholarship. The inaugural members will be responsible for setting the directions the Academy will take.

James Lewis, MD, Chair

Dr. James LewisDr. Lewis, Associate Professor of Surgery, earned his medical degree from the University of Florida College of Medicine, Gainesville, Florida. He completed his general surgery residency and surgical research fellowship at Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center in New Orleans before completing a surgical oncology fellowship at the H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center in Tampa, Florida. Dr. Lewis joined UTGSM faculty more than four years ago and is now the general surgery clerkship director. He will serve as Chair of the AOS.

Robert Craft, MD

Dr. Robert CraftDr. Craft, Professor and Chair of Anesthesiology, is a native of Tennessee, and with the exception of his Neuroanesthesia fellowship at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota, he has completed all of his education, training and career to date with the University of Tennessee. He received a departmental "Excellence in Teaching Award" in 2007 and 2008.

Brian Daley, MD

Dr. Brian DaleyDr. Daley, Professor, General Surgery Residency Program Director and Surgical Critical Care Fellowship Director of Surgery, trained at Charity Hospital with Tulane University in New Orleans, Louisiana, and at Bassett Hospital with Columbia University in Cooperstown, New York. He was a National Institutes of Health Fellow at Iowa University, Iowa City, Iowa, and received fellowships in trauma/surgical critical care at University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey, Newark, New Jersey, and nutrition at Harvard, Cambridge, Massachusetts. He joined faculty at UTGSM in 1996.

Mitchell Goldman, MD

Dr. Mitchell GoldmanDr. Goldman, Professor and Chair of Surgery and Assistant Dean of Research, is a graduate of Brandeis University and Harvard Medical School. He did his surgery residency at Peter Bent Brigham Hospital in Boston, Massachusetts, completed a tour at the Naval Medical Research Institute and Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences, Bethesda Maryland, and joined the faculty at Virginia Commonwealth University Medical Center before coming to UTGSM in 1984.

Kathleen Hudson, MD

Dr. Kathleen HudsonDr. Hudson, Associate Professor, Residency Program Director of Radiology, hails from a family of educators dating back to her grandfather. She graduated from McNeese State University and Louisiana State Medical College. Her academic achievements include 14 years as Program Director for the Radiology Residency Program at UTGSM and active participation in multiple national organizations.

Larry Kilgore, MD

Dr. Larry KilgoreDr. Kilgore, Professor and Chair of Obstetrics and Gynecology, graduated from the University of Tennessee and the UT Health Science Center. He completed residency in obstetrics and gynecology and a fellowship in gynecologic oncology at the University of Alabama in Birmingham. Formerly professor and endowed chair at UAB, Dr. Kilgore joined UTGSM faculty in 2010.

Patrick McConville, MD

Dr. Patrick McConvilleDr. McConville, Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology and Program Director of the Anesthesiology residency program, is a graduate of Yale University, New Haven, Connecticut, and Tulane School of Medicine, New Orleans, Louisiana. He completed his anesthesiology residency at the UT Graduate School of Medicine and a fellowship in obstetrical anesthesiology at Wake Forest. In 2010, he joined UTGSM faculty and earned a departmental teaching award in 2011.

Daphne Norwood, MD, MPH

Daphne NorwoodDr. Norwood, Assistant Professor and Associate Residency Program Director of Medicine and Transitional Year Residency Program Director, is a graduate of Princeton University, Princeton, New Jersey, and received her medical degree from the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey Robert Wood Johnson Medical School, New Brunswick, New Jersey. She completed her residency training at Hennepin County Medical Center in Minneapolis, Minnesota. Dr. Norwood also holds a master's degree in public health as well as a master of philosophy. She joined UTGSM faculty in 1996. Since then, she has received an E-Teaching Certificate and has also received UTGSM and departmental teaching awards.

Mark Rasnake, MD

Dr. Mark RasnakeDr. Rasnake, Assistant Professor and Residency Program Director of Medicine, received his medical degree from the University of Tennessee Health Science Center. He completed his residency and fellowship training at Wilford Hall Medical Center of Lackland Air Force Base in San Antonio, Texas. He joined UTGSM faculty in 2007 and was recently honored with a UTGSM Excellence in Teaching Award.

Nikki Zite, MD, MPH

Dr. Nikki ZiteDr. Zite, Professor and Residency Program Director of Obstetrics and Gynecology, received her undergraduate and Master in Public Health degrees at the University of Illinois in Chicago, Illinois. She completed her internship and residency training at the University of Tennessee in Memphis, Tennessee. She returned to the University of Illinois for fellowship training in Family Planning and Contraception. She joined UTGSM faculty in 2004.


Support The University of Tennessee Graduate School of Medicine

The University of Tennessee Graduate School of Medicine
1924 Alcoa Highway
Knoxville, Tennessee 37920 | 865-305-9290

Copyright © 2019